Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

May 22, 2018

Art Spiegelman Named Winner Of MacDowell Medal

Congratulations to Art Spiegelman on news that he will receive the Edward MacDowell Medal during a ceremony in mid-August at the MacDowell Colony. The award is named by an assembled committee of same-discipline and related-interest peers: Alison Bechdel chaired a group that included Gene Yang, Hillary Chute and James Sturm.

An impressive list of past winners include Aaron Copland, Robert Frost, Georgia O'Keefe and David Lynch. All are awarded for an outstanding contribution to American culture. Spiegelman will be the 59th recipient. More information as available here.
posted 1:45 am PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
September 2019
August 2019
July 2019
June 2019
May 2019
Full Archives