Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary















Home > Letters to CR

Jason Leivian On The Full Of Pryde Event At Floating World Comics (PR)
posted April 24, 2009
 

image

Contact: Jason Leivian,

Tel.: 503--241--0227

Email: jason@floatingworldcomics.com

FLOATING WORLD COMICS PRESENTS:

FULL OF PRYDE -- A benefit for the Oregon Hemophilia Treatment Center

My good friend Douglas E. Sherwood (Oni Press) proposed a tribute show based around his favorite X--Men character, Kitty Pryde. His own personal experiences with having hemophilia his entire life also inspired him to make the show a fundraiser for the Hemophilia Treatment Center at OHSU. So we've asked dozens of comic artists, graphic designers, and illustrators to do their rendition of Kitty Pryde for this May's First Thursday show. We'll have original artwork and prints for sale and 100% of the proceeds go the the HTC.

Preview more of the artwork here: http://fullofpryde.blogspot.com/

(promo poster art by Barnaby Ward)

LISTING INFORMATION:

WHO: Over 70 artists including: Bryan Lee O'Malley, Farel Dalrymple, Nathan Fox, Vasilis Lolos, Jeffrey Brown, Tom Neely, Brandon Graham, Corey Lewis, Zack Soto and more!

WHAT: Kitty Pryde tribute show, fundraiser for Oregon Hemphilia Treatment Center

WHEN: Thursday, May 7th, 6--10pm

WHERE: Floating World Comics, 20 NW 5th Ave #101


BIO INFORMATION:

Kitty Pryde is a lot of people's favorite X--Man. The fact that she was an adorable thirteen year--old girl when she joined the X--Men might have something to do with it. She can "phase" through objects, which means she can walk through walls or have dangerous weapons pass right through her without killing her. Only Joss Whedon can kill her, but don't bring that up with Mr. Sherwood. Here's a 99% complete list of all the artists that have contributed their time and talent to this show:
* David Anderson -- n/a
* Zachary Baldus -- http://www.zacharybaldus.com
* Chuck BB -- http://www.chuckbb.com
* Beau Berkley -- n/a
* Ryan Berkley -- http://www.flickr.com/photos/berkleyillustration/sets/
* Paul Bommer -- http://www.paulbommer.com/
* Trevor Brandt -- n/a
* Jeffrey Brown -- http://www.jeffreybrowncomics.com/
* Lars Brown -- http://www.north--world.com/
* Ross Campbell -- http://www.greenoblivion.com/
* Sean Christensen -- http://www.seanchristensen.blogspot.com/
* Stanley Chow -- http://www.stanleychow.co.uk
* Becky Cloonan -- http://www.estrigious.com/becky/
* Nikki Cook -- http://www.nikkicook.com/
* Joseph Cross -- http://josephacross.com/home.html
* Kevin Cross -- http://www.kevincross.net/Welcome.html
* Farel Dalrymple -- http://www.popgunwar.com/
* Allan Deas -- www.allandeas.com/
* Michael Deforge -- http://www.kingtrash.com/
* Hector Diaz -- n/a
* Nicholas Disabato -- http://www.nickd.org/
* Ulises Farinas -- http://ulisesfarinas.com/
* J Fish -- http://www.studiojfish.com/
* Nathan Fox -- http://www.foxnathan.com
* Rob G -- http://www.curseofrobg.com/
* Lucas Gallagher -- http://www.alaskanmind.com/
* Ana Galvan -- http://www.anagalvan.com/
* Matthew Garber -- n/a
* Brandon Graham -- http://royalboiler.deviantart.com
* Dan Hipp -- http://www.mrhipp.com/
* K. Thor Jensen -- http://www.shortandhappy.com/
* Joelle Jones -- http://www.joellejones.com/
* Mikael Kangas -- http://www.mikaelkangas.com/
* Jeffro Kilpatrick -- http://phillytoon.com/
* Daniel Knapp -- http://www.thehipoisie.com/
* Ilana Kohn -- http://ilanakohn.com/
* Rick Lacy -- http://ricklacy.blogspot.com/
* Hope Larson -- http://www.hopelarson.com/
* Nichlas Leibrecht -- http://lesfauves.00server.com/
* Sloane Leong -- http://www.war.respark.net/
* Corey Lewis -- http://www.reyyy.com/
* Stanley Lieber -- http://stanleylieber.com/
* Vasilis Lolos -- http://www.vasilislolos.com/
* Amanda Luna -- n/a
* Monkmus -- http://www.monkmus.com/
* Tom Neely -- www.iwilldestroyyou.com
* Flynn Nisbit -- http://snakeattack.com/
* Bryan O'Malley -- http://www.radiomaru.com/
* Hyeondo Park -- http://www.hanaroda.net/
* Robin Petering -- n/a
* Edward Pun -- www.edwardpun.com
* Robbi Rodriguez -- http://robbirodriguez.blogspot.com/
* Steve Rolston -- http://www.steverolston.com/
* Matt Seely -- n/a
* Aleks Sennwald -- http://www.senvald.com/
* Douglas Sherwood -- n/a
* Eric Skillman -- http://www.ericskillman.com/
* Pete Soloway -- n/a
* Zack Soto -- http://www.studygroup12.com
* Jon Sperry -- http://www.jonsperry.com
* Peter Stemmler -- http://www.quickhoney.com
* James Stokoe
* Stephen Swift -- http://www.infiniteurine.com
* Shoki Tanabe -- n/a
* Toby Tanabe -- n/a
* Brian Taylor -- http://btillustration.com/
* Pete Toms -- http://www.ifeelawesome.net/
* Barnaby Ward -- http://somefield.com/
* Jonathan Wayshak -- http://www.scrapbookmanifesto.com/
* Dalton Webb -- http://www.mrmanifesto.com/
* Steven Wilber -- n/a
* Adam Zeek -- http://northwestofthenation.blogspot.com/
* Alexis Ziritt -- http://calaveracomics.com

########


Best,
Jason
Floating World Comics
20 NW 5th Ave #101
Portland, OR 97209
503-241-0227

http://floatingworldcomics.com
http://myspace.com/floatingworldcomics
http://twitter.com/floating_world