Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

















June 29, 2016


Go, Read: Roger Langridge On Brexit

image
 
posted 1:30 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Ryan North Holds Forth On Fan Fiction

Here. I think that all makes sense. I like how people will bring very specific value systems to things that they do. I think most writers have written in some way with other characters -- even if those stories haven't been typed out. I like the idea that an advantage to that kind of writing is to see if you can figure out a character in a way that you can make that convinces other fans of the authenticity they require to read and enjoy the story. That would have to be really useful.
 
posted 1:25 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Go, Look: The Monster Jar

image
 
posted 1:20 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Forthcoming Comics-Related Events, Through August 2016

image

*****

July 1
* If I Were In Los Angeles, I'd Go To This (Anime Expo)
* If I Were In Florida, I'd Go To This (Florida Supercon)

July 2
* If I Were In Los Angeles, I'd Go To This (Anime Expo)
* If I Were In Glasgow, I'd Go To This (Glasgow Comic Con)
* If I Were In Florida, I'd Go To This (Florida Supercon)

July 3
* If I Were In Los Angeles, I'd Go To This (Anime Expo)
* If I Were In Glasgow, I'd Go To This (Glasgow Comic Con)
* If I Were In Florida, I'd Go To This (Florida Supercon)

July 4
* If I Were In Los Angeles, I'd Go To This (Anime Expo)
* If I Were In Florida, I'd Go To This (Florida Supercon)

July 6
* If I Were In SF, I'd Go To This

July 8
* If I Were In Montreal, I'd Go To This (Montreal Comiccon)

July 9
* If I Were In Newark, I'd Go To This (#bettyzinefest)
* If I Were In Montreal, I'd Go To This (Montreal Comiccon)

July 10
* If I Were In Montreal, I'd Go To This (Montreal Comiccon)

July 12
* If I Were In SF, I'd Go To This

July 15
* If I Were Near This, I'd Go To It (The Shrewsbury International Comic Art Festival)
* If I Were In SF, I'd Go To This

July 16
* If I Were Near This, I'd Go To It (The Shrewsbury International Comic Art Festival)

July 17
* If I Were Near This, I'd Go To It (The Shrewsbury International Comic Art Festival)

July 20
* If I Were In San Diego, I'd Go To This (CCI Preview Night)

July 21
* If I Were In San Diego, I'd Go To This (CCI)

July 22
* If I Were In San Diego, I'd Go To This (CCI)

July 23
* If I Were In San Diego, I'd Go To This (CCI)

July 24
* If I Were In San Diego, I'd Go To This (CCI)

July 29
* If I Were In Columbus, I'd Go To This (Wizard World Ohio)
* If I Were In San Antonio, I'd Go To This (Texas Comicon)

July 30
* If I Were In Columbus, I'd Go To This (Wizard World Ohio)
* If I Were In San Antonio, I'd Go To This (Texas Comicon)

July 31
* If I Were In Columbus, I'd Go To This (Wizard World Ohio)
* If I Were In San Antonio, I'd Go To This (Texas Comicon)

*****

August 12
* If I Were In Baltimore, I'd Go To This (Otakon)
* If I Were In Kansas City, I'd Go To This (Kansas City Comic Con)

August 13
* If I Were In Baltimore, I'd Go To This (Otakon)
* If I Were In Kansas City, I'd Go To This (Kansas City Comic Con)

August 14
* If I Were In Baltimore, I'd Go To This (Otakon)
* If I Were In Kansas City, I'd Go To This (Kansas City Comic Con)

August 18
* If I Were In Chicago, I'd Go To This (Wizard World Chicago)

August 19
* If I Were In Chicago, I'd Go To This (Wizard World Chicago)
* If I Were In Columbus, I'd Go To This

August 20
* If I Were In Chicago, I'd Go To This (Wizard World Chicago)

August 21
* If I Were In Chicago, I'd Go To This (Wizard World Chicago)

August 26
* If I Were Near Palm Springs, I'd Go To This (Comic Con Palm Springs)
* If I Were In Cleveland, I'd Go To This (BOUND)

August 27
* If I Were Near Palm Springs, I'd Go To This (Comic Con Palm Springs)
* If I Were In KC, I'd Go This (KC Zine Con)
* If I Were In Cleveland, I'd Go To This (BOUND)

August 28
* If I Were Near Palm Springs, I'd Go To This (Comic Con Palm Springs)

*****

Events For September 2016 Onward Listed Here

*****



*****
*****
 
posted 1:15 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Well Of Course He Can

image
 
posted 1:10 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Random Comics News Story Round-Up

image* Todd Klein on Wonder Woman: Rebirth #1. Bob Temuka on Aama and DK3. Jerry Smith on Captain America Epic Collection Vol. 1.

* IDW is looking for an experienced comic book editor. That'll be a good job for someone and might be a source of frustration for a lot of people who would like such a job and think they'd be good at it but don't have the asked-for experience. I hope they interview widely, and trust they will.

* Chip Zdarsky has powerful friends.

* this is a fun comics page. I prefer both action-oriented pages and gigantic panorama-style vista to this kind of posed shot, and comics that rely on posed images tend to be some of the worst in world history. That's still a fine character design, surrounded by a number of very comics-y visual flourishes.

* I guess people are still debating plot points in comics with Captain America in them and how comics work and such? I picked a good summer to skip Twitter.

* this is how you create 1000 gags in a year. I love old books about gag cartooning. There's never been revival for that kind of comics-making that's gone very deep, and I don't expect one any time soon. This is fine with me until I have all the Chon Day paperbacks.

* Abraham Riesman picks the best comics of the year to date. That's a really broad list in terms of genre and approach, and there are a lot of good comics on it.

* Zack Smith talks to Tom Scioli. Someone at the Creators Of Written Sins site talks to Victor Dandridge, Jr. Derek Colanduno talks to Darryl Cunningham.

* here is a run of cartoons about Brexit. Here is another. Here is something related that I can't see because WaPo wants subscription money now.

* finally, here are Matt Kindt's 10 rules for drawing comics.
 
posted 1:05 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Happy 66th Birthday, Bobby London!

image
 
posted 1:00 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Happy 62nd Birthday, Bo Hampton!

image
 
posted 1:00 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Happy 66th Birthday, Mike Richardson!

image
 
posted 1:00 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Happy 65th Birthday, Don Rosa!

image
 
posted 1:00 am PST | Permalink
 

 
June 28, 2016


Go, Look: The Phoenixes

image
 
posted 9:00 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Michel Renaud's Widow Files Charges Against Charlie Hebdo

This is just awful-sounding. It's hard for me to believe that millions of dollars are necessary to stabilize the publication of a magazine, if I'm even understanding what that means, even one in Hebdo's unique situation. I also believe that something firm and clear of major, dangling questions -- the kind of questions that are suggested here to be unresolved in some way -- should have been worked out as immediately and with as much clarity as possible after the 2015 shooting.

The lawsuits and some of the public complaints surrounding Hebdo brought to bear by those with a connection to the magazine interest me not just for the hangover of the drama involved but because a lot of the questions are limited to the event and the crime and the direct aftermath in terms of things like monies raised -- and they're still deeply messed up. It's something familiar to people I know who have been in close proximity to life-changing violence: shifting contexts can only exacerbate or provide some small tonic in the face of core wounds; the wounds themselves remain.
 
posted 8:55 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Go, Look: Shock SuspenStories Cover Images Gallery

image
 
posted 8:30 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Collective Memory: HeroesCon 2016

image

Links to stories, eyewitness accounts and resources concerning the 2016 edition of HeroesCon, held June 17-19 in and around the Charlotte Convention Center in Charlotte, North Carolina.

This entry will continue to be updated for as long as people

*****

Institutional
* Festival Site
* Physical Location
* Host City

Blogs And Personal Journals
* #heroescon on Tumblr

* Alexis Ziritt

* Barney Google And Snuffy Smith
* Bleeding Cool

* Comics Alternative
* Comics Kingdom

* Digital Femme

* Fantagraphics

* Get Offline

* Matt Fraction

* rocketship to planet jeff
* Ryan Cecil Smith

* Task Force Rad Squad

* Valentine De Landro

Facebook
* Event Page

* Hubert Black
* John Nettles Jr.
* Naomi Kirchoff

Miscellaneous
* Eventful Listing
* Fievent Listing
* Heroes Tumblr
* Wikipedia Entry
* Yelp Entry

News Stories And Columns
* Charlotte Magazine
* Charlotte Observer
* Clture.com
* ComicBook.com
* Comics Workbook

* Fox 46

* Go Carolinas

* Nerd Nation Magazine

* Stela

* The Mary Sue

Photos
* #heroescon on Instagram

* AdHouse Books

* Ed Piskor

* Jacques Nyemb
* Jessica Petro
* Juan Bareto

* Leo Photography 01
* Leo Photography 02

* Merissa Jones

* Out Of Step Arts

* Patrick Sun 01
* Patrick Sun 02
* Patrick Sun 03
* Patrick Sun 04
* Patrick Sun 05
* Patrick Sun 06
* photosbypike

* The Variant

* Winston-Salem Journal

Twitter
* Festival Account

* HeroesCon 2017 Dates Announcement Tweet

Video
* Fisticuffs Photography
* HeroesCon 2016 Drink & Draw

*****



*****

image

*****
*****
 
posted 8:25 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Go, Look: Chris Samnee Superhero Pin-Ups

image
 
posted 8:00 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Go, Listen: Tim Hensley Interview By Roman Muradov

imageThat's a really interesting pairing.

Hensley's Sir Alfred No. 3 has a fascinating story in that the book that started with Buenaventura Press and ended up with Fantagraphics Books upon the passing of publisher Buenaventura Press. Championing unique talents with a special attention to the way the work is presented, that's what Alvin Buenaventura did best when he was operating on all cylinders. For its part, Fantagraphics never gets historical credit for some of the things they've done for smaller-press counterparts or books that are placed with such publishers when something horrible like this comes up.

I hope you'll read the comic. Despite its twin publishing partners, that is going to be one of the most obscure titles with which to grapple when it comes time to naming the best books of 2016.
 
posted 7:55 am PST | Permalink
 

 
I Never Get Tired Of Looking At Franklin Booth Illustrations

image
 
posted 7:30 am PST | Permalink
 

 
By Request Extra: Soto Family GoFundMe On Behalf Of Youngest Member Pressing Towards 10X Initial Ask

Here. Good on the comics community for stepping up on behalf of one of its most well-liked members, alt-arts division. I have to imagine any additional money will be put to good use.
 
posted 7:25 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Go, Look: Short Excerpt From Jeremy Sorese's Curveball

image
 
posted 1:30 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Bundled, Tossed, Untied & Stacked: Publishing News

image

By Tom Spurgeon

* if you missed another round of Benign Kingdom artbooks, walk don't run to their crowd-funder.

* Alexander Lu talks to Ulisses Fariñas about his work with Storme Smith on the new Magnetic Press Buño.

* Mike Sterling notes that Marvel's new initiative with the Star Wars characters and setting is just now encompassing the movie released last holiday season. Sterling points out that with the ubiquity of personal copies of the movie, there's no real reason to ruch an adaptation to market.

* finally, Joe Ollmann shoes off the cover to next year's The Abominable Mr. Seabrook.

image
 
posted 1:25 am PST | Permalink
 

 
If I Were In Orlando, I'd Go To This

image
 
posted 1:20 am PST | Permalink
 

 
If I Were In London, I'd Go To This

image
 
posted 1:20 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Go, Look: Underwater

image
 
posted 1:10 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Random Comics News Story Round-Up

image* Rob Clough on a bunch of mini-comics. And a bunch more. And an additional bunch. Bob Temuka on DKIII. Todd Klein on Green Lanterns: Rebirth #1 and Gay-Neck: The Story Of A Pigeon.

* if you qualify, consider contacting MariNaomi about being included in her databases.

* well, he seems to think our solution is to murder him.

* what person 30 to 60 hasn't gone though this stage?

* this Derf take on a famous painting made me laugh -- I recognized the painting before I read the contextual explanation.

* here is Bob Temuka's lifetime in comics. I was going to do something similar over a longer period of time with TCJ, but my relationship deteriorated with that publication before we could get that one done.

* Carrie McClain talks to Hybrie and Faybra.

* finally, this has to be one of comics' most benign alternate universes.
 
posted 1:05 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Happy 72nd Birthday, Philippe Druillet!

image
 
posted 1:00 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Daily Blog Archives
June 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
 
Full Archives