Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

August 22, 2017

Comics People Bringing Home The Awards And Such

* congratulations to Jeff Smith on winning the Sparky Award from the Cartoon Art Museum (not sure there's a direct link there, but scroll down to August 16). It goes to an artist that matches namesake Charles "Sparky" Schulz's "talent, innovation and humanity." Past winners include Carl Barks, Will Eisner, John Lasseter, Stan Lee and Mort Walker.

image* congratulations to Miriam Libicki on being the new writer in residence at the Vancouver Public Library and on having Toward A Hot Jew being shortlisted for a Vine Award For Jewish Literature, in non-fiction.

* congratulations to this awesome pair of folks at the Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum: Wendy Pflug, on being granted tenure; Caitlin McGurk, on receiving her Award In Teaching Excellence.
posted 8:55 am PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
December 2018
November 2018
October 2018
September 2018
August 2018
Full Archives