Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

















July 29, 2016


Assembled, Zipped, Transferred And Downloaded: News From Digital

By Tom Spurgeon

* congratulations to Caitlin Rosberg on 12 months of reviewing only works by people of color. That is wholly admirable, and I'm glad it had a positive effect on the writer as well.

image* I have yet to post about these free Cerebus collage-style comics made from existing art, part of a publicity effort for a future Cerebus project of the same sort and for the digital versions of the 300-issue series.

* a webcomics-maker owns the domain name ClintonKaine.com.

* I had a few people ask me why Matthew Inman won the Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award and I direct them here.

* finally, there's apparently a webcomics effort key to the workings a beauty-business empire.
 
posted 1:25 am PST | Permalink
 

 
If I Were Near Columbus, I'd Go To This

image
 
posted 1:20 am PST | Permalink
 

 
If I Were In San Antonio, I'd Go To This

image
 
posted 1:20 am PST | Permalink
 

 
If I Were In San Antonio, I'd Go To This

image
 
posted 1:20 am PST | Permalink
 

 
If I Were In Seattle, I'd Go To This

image
 
posted 1:20 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Random Comics News Story Round-Up

* I'm sure this comic is professionally done and will have its fans, but I'm struck by how all the new takes on things look like the last eleven new takes on that thing.

* not comics: Bill Kristol crushes Scott Adams.

* finally, Chip Zdarsky and Margaret Atwood talk about where Superman's clothes go.
 
posted 1:05 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Happy 62nd Birthday, Lovern Kindzierski!

image
 
posted 1:00 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Happy 33rd Birthday, Nick Gazin!

image
 
posted 1:00 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Happy 69th Birthday, Baru!

image
 
posted 1:00 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Happy 47th Birthday, Ted May!

image
 
posted 1:00 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Happy 42nd Birthday, Gail Simone!

image
 
posted 1:00 am PST | Permalink
 

 
July 28, 2016


CR Review: Star Wars: Return of the Jedi -- The Original Topps Trading Card Series Volume Three

imageCreators: Gary Gerani, the Topps company, various early-'80s on-set photographers, Lucasfilm
Publishing Information: Abrams ComicArts, hardcover, 528 pages, August 2016, $24.95.
Availability: 1419720929 (ISBN10), 9781419720925 (ISBN13)

This very curious thing has been sitting on my desk for about a week. It's a page by page reprinting of the entire set of Return Of The Jedi photo-cards made by Topps back when that movie came out almost two full adult lifetimes now. I can't attest to its quality. There are elements of the presentation that I find fun but I find the cards themselves sort of fitfully ugly. I don't remember that being an attractively-lit movie and that bears out here with a lot of muddy imagery. It brings to mind few thrilling set pieces from that film, which makes sense because that film is fairly dull, constructed in the main from images that flash back to more effectively utilized visuals from the first two movies.

I also don't know why this is under Abrams ComicArt imprint. This book is the kind of thing my Mom lumps in under comics. Most active comics fans probably don't see it the same way of my parent, at least not automatically. There may be something going on under the auspices of making this particular part of the publishing empire a bit more specifically profitable, I'm not certain. All of the companies with a wider-than-comics mandate have done something similar, so it's not something on which I'm focused.

I have no idea who this is for, but it's clearly not for me.
 
posted 3:00 pm PST | Permalink
 

 
Go, Look: John Martz Remembers Richard Thompson

image
 
posted 10:00 am PST | Permalink
 

 
By Request Extra: Help John Kerschbaum

image

John Kerschbaum, a good man and a highly-skilled cartoonist, could use your help after his family was displaced by a fire. Please join me in doing so.
 
posted 9:55 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Go, Look: Adventures Of A Clintern

image
 
posted 9:00 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Go, Look: Etta Hulme Material Profiled

image
 
posted 8:30 am PST | Permalink
 

 
By Request Extra: Rise Of Czap Books

image

Czap Books, the smart boutique publisher run by that good citizen of comics Kevin Czapiewski, launched a crowd-funder yesterday to fund that line's 2017 season.

That's a strategy pursued by a lot of small publishers right now, and it's not one I recommend anyone endorse without looking into the season that will be supported and the history, however brief, of the person or persons making the request. I am sure Kevin Czapiewski and the imprint welcome that scrutiny.

As of this writing they look well on their way to getting to their initial goal, and good for them.
 
posted 8:25 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Go, Look: How Richard Thompson Made The Pie Higher

image
 
posted 8:00 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Go, Read: Andrew Aydin's Beard Explained

It's a good story. It's a nice beard, too!
 
posted 7:55 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Go, Look: Drew Friedman On Jack Davis' Work At TV Guide

image
 
posted 7:30 am PST | Permalink
 

 
By Request Extra: Smut And Jeff

image

We're in the last hours of this crowd-funder from Kody Chamberlain, which I did not see in my Inbox until after the intensive San Diego con period. The e-mail was so nice I wanted to mention it here in case there's a flood of people or one very interested person that might wish to fund this project in its later stages. The impressive ask covers five full-color issues, making it much less of an impressive ask, really.
 
posted 7:25 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Go, Look: Jack Davis Drawing Abraham Lincoln

image
 
posted 1:30 am PST | Permalink
 

 
The Never-Ending, Four-Color Festival: Shows And Events

image

By Tom Spurgeon

image* Comic Arts Brooklyn is a go: a one-day exhibitor-driven show on November 5. This is the same day as Short Run, which is too bad, but I love-love-love Comic Arts Brooklyn and I hope it kicks ass this year just as it has the past few. It's very important, I think, for good shows to be in the New York area, one of the best markets for comics in the world. Apply if you're regional or just itching to roam the streets of Brooklyn during a crisp Fall weekend.

* you have until July 31st to apply for CAKE's Cupcake Award and all the stuff that comes with it: a fine opportunity for a young comics-maker.

* Comic-Con International has announced next year's show will be July 20-23 with a Preview Night set for July 19. This is a week after the D23 Expo in Anaheim run by Disney. If you see Comic-Con as an entity measured by its ability to foster big-corporation marketing moments, I imagine this is a great concern and fascinating item of speculation. I personally don't care, and I think Comic-Con has headed in a slightly different direction for about three years now. I also think there's plenty of PR to go around.

* with Comic-Con in the rearview window, most of comics will mostly rest until SPX. I am all for there being at least three significant periods of time per year of comics stepping away from cons and festivals. It allows the events themselves the ability to breathe, makes a good month for tours and store visits by individual creators, and gives pressed creators some guaranteed time off. We don't get that any longer, but you can still see the relative lack of shows in August as a hangover from that traditional way of doing things.

* all that said, I'll be handing out free stuff at Wizard World Columbus this year. Please stop by and say hi.

* I quite like the look of these.

* this article about comics-makers -- or at least comics-conceivers -- using the popularity of movies based on comics to try and backdoor their way into Hollywood stuff is super-depressing.

* finally, AAEC has a poster, a setting a date and a bunch of other stuff set for this year's gathering.

image
 
posted 1:25 am PST | Permalink
 

 
If I Were In Brooklyn, I'd Go To This

image
 
posted 1:20 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Forthcoming Comics-Related Events, Through August 2016

image

*****

July 29
* If I Were In Columbus, I'd Go To This (Wizard World Ohio)
* If I Were In San Antonio, I'd Go To This (Texas Comicon)
* If I Were In Seattle, I'd Go To This

July 30
* If I Were In Columbus, I'd Go To This (Wizard World Ohio)
* If I Were In San Antonio, I'd Go To This (Texas Comicon)
* If I Were In LA, I'd Go To This

July 31
* If I Were In Columbus, I'd Go To This (Wizard World Ohio)
* If I Were In San Antonio, I'd Go To This (Texas Comicon)

*****

August 3
* If I Were In SF And Qualified, I'd Go To This

August 12
* If I Were In Baltimore, I'd Go To This (Otakon)
* If I Were In Kansas City, I'd Go To This (Kansas City Comic Con)

August 13
* If I Were In Baltimore, I'd Go To This (Otakon)
* If I Were In Kansas City, I'd Go To This (Kansas City Comic Con)

August 14
* If I Were In Baltimore, I'd Go To This (Otakon)
* If I Were In Kansas City, I'd Go To This (Kansas City Comic Con)

August 17
* If I Were In London, I'd Go To This

August 18
* If I Were In Chicago, I'd Go To This (Wizard World Chicago)

August 19
* If I Were In Chicago, I'd Go To This (Wizard World Chicago)
* If I Were In Columbus, I'd Go To This

August 20
* If I Were In Chicago, I'd Go To This (Wizard World Chicago)

August 21
* If I Were In Chicago, I'd Go To This (Wizard World Chicago)

August 25
* If I Were In NYC, I'd Go To This

August 26
* If I Were Near Palm Springs, I'd Go To This (Comic Con Palm Springs)
* If I Were In Cleveland, I'd Go To This (BOUND)

August 27
* If I Were Near Palm Springs, I'd Go To This (Comic Con Palm Springs)
* If I Were In Cleveland, I'd Go To This (BOUND)

August 28
* If I Were Near Palm Springs, I'd Go To This (Comic Con Palm Springs)

*****

Events For September 2016 Onward Listed Here

*****



*****
*****
 
posted 1:15 am PST | Permalink
 

 
Daily Blog Archives
July 2016
June 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
 
Full Archives