Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

June 20, 2018

Missed It: 2018 Finger Awards To Writers Joye Hummel Murchison Kelly And Dorothy Roubicek Woolfolk

The Bill Finger Award organizers have named their recipients for 2018: Joye Hummel Murchison Kelly and Dorothy Roubicek Woolfolk, addressing gender imbalance in the history of comics writing and also within the awards program itself.

Kelly is this year's living recipient, having worked on a number of stories for publication featuring the Wonder Woman characters, under the byline "Charles Moulton." Her period working on these stories was the peak American comics landscape that lasted from 1944-1947. Much of her work that has recently be reprinted in the wake of the character's successful adaptation to film. She will accept her award in person.

Woolfolk was a writer and editor at All-American Publications, a company eventually absorbed by DC Comics. She also worked for Martin Goodman's line of comics and for EC. In the 1970s Woolfolk edited a number of books for DC Comics. She wrote scripts throughout. The Finger Awards PR has Woolfolk responsible for adding Kryptonite to the Superman narratives, a story in itself. Woolfolk passed away in 2000, and her award will be accepted by her daughter.

The Bill Finger Award was created in 2005 from a proposal made by the late writer, artist and creator advocate Jerry Robinson. It is named for William Finger (1914-1974), a co-creator of the mythos-defining early Batman comics and a few dozen others during a long career at DC Comics. The selection committee is Charles Kochman, Kurt Busiek, Jim Amash, Scott Shaw! and Marv Wolfman. The major sponsor for 2018 is DC Comics. The awards will be presented on July 20 during the Eisner Awards ceremony at Comic-Con International. Past winners include Steve Gerber, Don Rosa, Don McGregor, Bob Haney and Otto Binder.
posted 1:35 am PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
July 2019
June 2019
May 2019
April 2019
March 2019
Full Archives