Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

March 7, 2014

Taiyo Matsumoto, Emily Carroll Win Cartoonist Studio Prize


Taiyo Matsumoto and Emily Carroll are the winners of this year's Cartoonist Studio Prize coordinated by Slate and The Center For Cartoon Studies. Winners were selected by the judges: Dan Kois, Chris Butcher and the faculty + students at CCS (the last list making for a single vote, one assumes).

Matsumoto won the print award for two volumes of Sunny from Viz; Carroll won the web comics version for "Out Of Skin," which was self-published.

Each winner will receive $1000. Last year's winners were Chris Ware and Noelle Stevenson.

The other print category finalists and their qualifiying works were Gene Luen Yuang for Boxers and Saints, Isabel Greenberg for The Encyclopedia of Early Earth, Etienne Davodeau for The Initiates: A Comic Artist And A Wine Artisan Exchange Jobs, Gilbert Hernandez for Julio's Day, Robert Hunter for Map Of Days, Michel Rabagliati for Paul Joins The Scouts, Rutu Modan for The Property, Genevieve Castree for Susceptible and Ulli Lust for Today Is The Last Day Of The Rest Of Your Life.

The other web comics cartoonists and their qualifying works were Melanie Gillman for As The Crow Flies, Boulet for Bouletcorp, KC Green for Gunshow, Sam Alden for Household, Jennifer Parks for The Lone Wolf, Gabrielle Bell for Lucky, Erika Moen for Oh Joy Sex Toy, Michael DeForge for Sticks Angelica and Winston Rowntree for Subnormality.

Congratulations to the winners and the nominees.
posted 2:25 am PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
May 2018
April 2018
March 2018
February 2018
January 2018
Full Archives