Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

June 16, 2008

Your 2008 Shuster Awards Winners


The winners in this juried program to award Canadians and named after the Canadian-born Superman co-creator Joe Shuster were announced Saturday Night in Toronto in conjunction with the Sequential Art Symposium held at the Toronto Public Library.

Outstanding Canadian Comic Book Writer
Cecil Castellucci for The P.L.A.I.N. Janes (DC/Minx)
Outstanding Canadian Comic Book Artist
Dale Eaglesham for Justice Society of America #2-4, 6-7, 9-11 (DC Comics)
Outstanding Canadian Comic Book Cartoonist (Writer/Artist)
Jeff Lemire for Essex County Vol. 1: Tales From The Farm, Essex County Vol. 2: Ghost Stories (Top Shelf)
Outstanding Cover By A Canadian Comic Book Artist
Steve Skroce for Doc Frankenstein #6 (Burleyman)
Outstanding Canadian Comic Book Colourist
Dave McCaig for Nextwave, Agents of H.A.T.E. #12, New Avengers #27-35, Fallen Son -- The Death of Captain America #1: Wolverine, Marvel Comics Presents #1-4, Wolverine #50, Avengers Classic #7 (Marvel Comics), DC Infinite Halloween Special #1 (DC Comics), The Other Side #4-5 (DC/Vertigo) Stephen Colbert's Tek Jensen #1 (ONI Press)
Outstanding Canadian Comic Book &/or Graphic Novel Publisher
Drawn & Quarterly
Outstanding Canadian Webcomics Creator/Creative Team
Ryan Sohmer and Lar De Souza for Least I Can Do and Looking for Group
Outstanding Achievement by a Canadian Related to Comic Books
David Watkins for using comic books as a teaching tool
Canadian Comic Book Creator Hall of Fame
Stan Berneche, John Byrne, Pierre Fournier, Edwin R. "Ted" McCall
Favourite Canadian Comic Book Creator -- English Language Publications
Faith Erin Hicks -- Zombies Calling
Favorite Canadian Comic Book Creator -- French Language Publications
Philippe Girard aka phlppgrrd -- Danger Public
Favorite International (Non-Canadian) Comic Book Creator
Ed Brubaker -- Captain America, Criminal, Immortal Iron Fist, Uncanny X-Men
Harry Kremer Outstanding Canadian Comic Book Retailer
Big B Comics -- Hamilton, Ontario

The 2008 jury was Mark Askwith, Garnet Fraser, Matt Granger, Duane Murray and Mike "Nug" Nahrgang.
posted 4:17 pm PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
December 2018
November 2018
October 2018
September 2018
August 2018
Full Archives