Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

December 14, 2012

Your 2012 Stan Lee Excelsior Award Shortlist


The shortlist for this year's Stan Lee Excelsior Awards has been posted. They are:

* Peter Panzerfaust: The Great Escape, Kurtis J. Wiebe and Tyler Jenkins (Image Comics)
* Soul Eater Not! Vol. 1, Atsushi Ohkubo (Yen Press)
* Strontium Dog: The Life and Death of Johnny Apple, John Wagner and Carlos Ezquerra (Rebellion/2000AD)
* Supergirl: Last Daughter of Krypton, Michael Green, Mike Johnson and Mahmud Asrar (DC Comics)
* Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street, Sean Michael Wilson and Declan Shalvey (Classic Comics)
* Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Change Is Constant, Kevin Eastman, Tom Waltz and Dan Duncan (IDW Publishing)
* Wonder Woman: Blood, Brian Azzarello, Cliff Chiang and Tony Akins (DC Comics)
* X-O Manowar: By the Sword, Robert Venditti and Cary Nord (Valiant)

I had to go looking to see what the hell these are, and that superior link-blogger Kevin Melrose explains it here. They were established last year by a school librarian and are targeted at kids and teens. There will be a first, second and third place announced in July.
posted 5:20 pm PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
June 2018
May 2018
April 2018
March 2018
February 2018
Full Archives