Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

February 28, 2014

Your 2013 Reuben Award Nominees


The National Cartoonist Society has announced its finalists for the Outstanding Cartoonist Of The Year category at their yearly awards, known as the Reuben and one of the world's handful of great honors for a living cartoonist. The nominees for the stridently newspaper strip focused honor are Wiley Miller (Non Sequitur), Stephan Pastis (Pearls Before Swine), Hilary Price (Rhymes With Orange) and Mark Tatulli (Lio, Heart Of The City).

I'm not sure I have a lot to say about the nominees. That seems like a solid slate drawn from traditional Reuben voting and nominee strategies. No one on here seems like they're jumping the gun in terms of how long their work has been around, nor do any of the four lack the kind of commercial success that's usually a component of the award, intentional or not. The one thing that strikes me is I'm surprised Wiley Miller hasn't been nominated before now. Congratulations to all four.

The winner is named at a black-tie ceremony held over Memorial Day weekend during the year meeting of the group at a revolving location; this year it's in San Diego.
posted 2:09 am PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
June 2018
May 2018
April 2018
March 2018
February 2018
Full Archives