Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

May 29, 2014

Your 2014 Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award Nominees


Comic-Con International announced this year's nominees for the Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award this afternoon.

They are:

* Aaron Conley, artist, Sabertooth Swordsman (Dark Horse)
* Vanesa R Del Rey, artist, Hit (BOOM!)
* Stephan Franck, writer/artist, Silver (Dark Planet)
* Anders Lazaret, artist, The Brave (Mythos Comics)
* Greg Smallwood, artist, Dream Thief (Dark Horse)

The award has been given out since 1982. Past winners include Eleanor Davis, Marian Churchland and Steve Rude.

The nominees was selected by a jury from the West Coast Comics Club and from Comic-Con. The winner will be selected by jury made up of past winners and former Manning assistants. The award is announced during the Eisner Awards ceremony held at Comic-Con International.
posted 12:00 pm PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
June 2018
May 2018
April 2018
March 2018
February 2018
Full Archives