Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

December 23, 2013

Your Broken Frontier Awards 2013 Nominees


The site Broken Frontier has announced nominations for its tenth annual awards. You can vote via information presented here. Their nominees are:

imageBest Writer -- Mainstream
* Brian Michael Bendis (All-New X-Men, Guardians of the Galaxy, Uncanny X-Men)
* Matt Fraction (Hawkeye)
* Jonathan Hickman (Avengers, New Avengers)
* Mark Waid (Daredevil)
* Scott Snyder (Batman, The Wake)

Best Writer -- Independent
* Charles Forsman (Celebrated Summer, TEOTFW)
* Nicole Georges (Calling Dr. Laura)
* Matt Kindt (Mind MGMT, Red Handed: The Fine Art of Strange Crimes)
* Greg Rucka (Lazarus, Lady Sabre & The Pirates of the Ineffable Aether)
* Brian K. Vaughan (Saga, The Private Eye)

Best Artist -- Mainstream
* David Aja (Hawkeye)
* Chris Burnham (Batman Incorporated)
* Jamie McKelvie (Young Avengers)
* Esad Ribic (Thor: God of Thunder)
* Stuart Immonen (All-New X-Men)

Best Artist -- Independent
* Becky Cloonan (Demeter)
* Michael DeForge (Very Casual)
* Marcos Martin (The Private Eye)
* Gary Northfield (Teenytinysaurs)
* Fiona Staples (Saga)

Breakout Talent
* Gareth Brookes (The Black Project)
* Hannah Eaton (Naming Monsters)
* Charles Forsman (Celebrated Summer, TEOTFW)
* Katie Green (Lighter Than My Shadow)
* Isabel Greenberg (The Encyclopedia of Early Earth, Tall Tales and Outrageous Adventures)

imageBest Ongoing Series
* Copra (Michel Fiffe)
* Hawkeye (Matt Fraction & David Aja, Marvel)
* Mind MGMT (Matt Kindt, Dark Horse)
* Saga (Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples, Image)
* Young Avengers (Kieron Gillen & Jamie McKelvie, Marvel)

Best Limited Series
* Dream Thief (Jai Nitz & Greg Smallwood, Dark Horse)
* Mouse Guard: Legends of the Guard 2 (David Petersen et al, BOOM! Studios/Archaia)
* Numbercruncher (Si Spurrier & PJ Holden, Titan)
* Storm Dogs (David Hin & Doug Braithwaite, Image)
* Trillium (Jeff Lemire, DC/Vertigo)

Best New Series
* Lazarus (Greg Rucka & Michael Lark, Image)
* Kinski (Gabriel Hardman, Monkeybrain)
* Pretty Deadly (Kelly Sue DeConnick & Emma Rios, Image)
* Sex Criminals (Matt Fraction & Chip Zdarsky, Image)
* The Private Eye (Brian K. Vaughan & Marcos Martin, Panel Syndicate)

Best Original Graphic Novel
* Boxers/Saints (Gene Yang, First Second)
* March: Book One (John Lewis, Andrew Aydin & Nate Powell, Top Shelf)
* Swear Down (Oliver East, Blank Slate)
* The Black Project (Gareth Brookes, Myriad)
* The Encyclopedia of Early Earth (Isabel Greenberg, Jonathan Cape)

Best Book on Comics
* Al Capp: A Life to the Contrary (Denis Kitchen & Michael Schumacher, Bloomsbury USA)
* Bazooka Joe and his Gang (Jeff Shepherd & The Topps Company, Abrams ComicArts)
* Comics Art (Paul Gravett, Tate Gallery)
* Curing the Postmodern Blues: Reading Grant Morrison and Chris Weston’s The Filth in the 21st Century (Tom Shapira, Sequart)
* Magic Words: The Extraordinary Life of Alan Moore (Lance Parkin, Aurum Press)

Best Publisher
* Blank Slate Books
* First Second
* Image Comics
* Nobrow Press
* Oily Comics

Voting ends tomorrow at midnight!

posted 1:45 am PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
June 2018
May 2018
April 2018
March 2018
February 2018
Full Archives