Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

January 17, 2019

Eisner Judges Pick Aparo, Tarpe Mills, Stevens, Turner For HOF; Four More To Be Voted In For July


Announcement here. That's a diverse and interesting group -- by sample order above Jim Aparo, June Tarpé Mills, Dave Stevens, Morrie Turner -- and continue recent trends in selection. The judges also selected the nominated comics figures for voting. Four more will be named to the Hall that way. The latter group will be announced and both groups celebrated at the Eisner Awards in July.

The nominees are:

* Brian Bolland
* Kevin Eastman
* José Luis Garcia-Lopez
* Lynn Johnston
* Jenette Kahn
* Paul Levitz
* Alex Niño
* Lily Renée Peter Phillips
* Wendy & Richard Pini
* P. Craig Russell (pictured below)
* Bill Sienkiewicz
* Don & Maggie Thompson
* Akira Toriyama
* Naoki Urasawa

The Eisners have put their descriptions of the nominees here. I will certainly be able to find four nominees for whom I can happily vote, and I wish everyone good luck. One thing that strikes me about this list is I'm less certain than usual where the voting will land -- there are a lot of popular types of comics figures which usually receive voting attention competing against one another this year. Should be fun to see how it works out.

This year's judges are Chris Arrant, Jared Gardner, Traci Glass, Jenn Haines, Steven Howearth and Jimmie Robinson. Final round votes are done through

posted 3:45 pm PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
November 2019
October 2019
September 2019
August 2019
July 2019
Full Archives