Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

January 18, 2018

Go, Look: GLAAD Announces Its Media Awards Nominees, Including Its Usual Attention To Comic Books

You can read a general article about the awards here. It's nice to see a broader range of books noted in the nominees stage than in the awards program's first few years, where the lists focused on superhero comics. It still doesn't feel very alt-y, even in the broadest way that is defined, but there are now wider definitions of the kind of mainstream entertainments that these awards have always covered. It makes for a more interesting list, anyway.

Here's the full group.

image* America by Gabby Rivera, Joe Quinones, Ming Doyle, Stacey Lee, Ramon Villalobos, Walden Wong, Jen Bartel, Annie Wu, Aud Koch, Flaviano, Joe Rivera, Paolo Rivera, José Villarrubia, Jordan Gibson, Tamra Bonvillain, Brittany Peer, Rachelle Rosenberg and Travis Lanham (Marvel Comics)

* The Backstagers by James Tynion IV, Rian Sygh, Walter Baiamonte and Jim Campbell (BOOM! Studios)

* Batwoman by Marguerite Bennett, James Tynion IV, Steve Epting, Jeromy N. Cox, Stephanie Hans, Renato Arlem, Adriano Honorato Lucas, Fernando Blanco, John Rauch and Deron Bennett (DC Comics)

* Black Panther: World of Wakanda by Roxane Gay, Ta-Nehisi Coates, Yona Harvey, Rembert Browne, Alitha E. Martinez, Manny Mederos, Joe Bennett, Afua Richardson, Roberto Poggi, Tamra Bonvillain, Rachelle Rosenberg, Virtual Calligraphy and Joe Sabino (Marvel Comics)

* Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love by Sarah Vaughn, Lan Medina, Phillip Hester, José Villarrubia and Janice Chiang (DC Comics)

* Goldie Vance by Hope Larson, Jackie Ball, Brittney Williams, Noah Hayes, Sarah Stern and Jim Campbell (BOOM! Studios)

* Iceman by Sina Grace, Alessandro Vitti, Ibraim Roberson, Edgar Salazar, Edgar E. Tadeo, Robert Gill, Rachelle Rosenberg and Joe Sabino (Marvel Comics)

* Lumberjanes by Kat Leyh, Shannon Watters, Carolyn Nowak, Ayme Sotuyo, Maarta Laiho and Aubrey Aiese (BOOM! Studios)

* Quantum Teens Are Go by Magdalene Visaggio, Eryk Donovan, Claudia Aguirre and Zakk Saam (Black Mask Comics)

* The Woods by James Tynion IV, Michael Dialynas and Ed Dukeshire (BOOM! Studios)

I can't be the only one to notice that they listed all the creators, which is inclusion of a different type. This is the awards program's 29th year. They have two ceremonies: one in April, one in May.
posted 9:55 pm PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
November 2019
October 2019
September 2019
August 2019
July 2019
Full Archives