Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

May 28, 2019

Missed It: Your 2019 Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award Winners

Comic-Con International released word late last week that Edgardo Miranda-Rodriguez, Kyung Jeon Miranda and Lisa Wood would receive this year's Bob Campett Humanitarian Award. Miranda-Rodriguez receives the award for the benefit book Ricanstruction: Reminiscing and Rebuilding Puerto Rico feauring his character La Borinquena. That money was facilitated to Puerto Rican grassroots organizations by Jeon-Miranda.

Wood, known under the pen name Tula Lotay, was given the award for founding Thought Bubble in Leeds, known forits yearly comics festival but boasting of a wide range of activities throughout the year.

The Clampett Humanitarian Award was named for the animator Bob Clampett, a frequest early guest of the show. They are given out during the Eisner Awards ceremony on the Friday of the show, this year July 19.

Congratulations and thank you to the winners.
posted 5:35 pm PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
November 2019
October 2019
September 2019
August 2019
July 2019
Full Archives