Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

September 13, 2007

Your 2007 Ignatz Award Nominees


The 2007 Ignatz Award nominees have been announced. Unless I already posted something about them, in which case, here they are again! It's probably a bad sign I don't remember -- for me and the awards. Anyhow, the Ignatz Awards, given out during a ceremony at the Small Press Expo in Bethesda, Maryland, are a juried-nomination award celebrating creator-driven work of the type that exhibits at the Expo.

The jury this year was Sara Edward-Corbett, Paul Hornschemeier, Steve MacIsaac, Jesse Reklaw and Zack Soto.


Outstanding Artist
* Vanessa Davis, Papercutter #4 (Tugboat Press), Kramers Ergot #6 (Buenaventura Press)
* John Hankiewicz, Asthma (Sparkplug Comic Books)
* Jaime Hernandez, Love & Rockets (Fantagraphics Books)
* Rutu Modan, Exit Wounds (Drawn & Quarterly)
* Ted Stearn, Fuzz & Pluck in Splitsville #4 (Fantagraphics Books)

Outstanding Anthology or Collection
* Curses by Kevin Huizenga (Drawn & Quarterly)
* Drawn & Quarterly Showcase Vol. 4 by Gabrielle Bell, Martin Cendrera, and Dan Zettwoch (Drawn & Quarterly)
* King-Cat Classix by John Porcellino (Drawn & Quarterly)
* Misery Loves Comedy by Ivan Brunetti (Fantagraphics Books)
* Moomin Book One by Tove Jansson (Drawn & Quarterly)

Outstanding Graphic Novel
* Aya by Marguerite Abouet and Clement Oubrerie (Drawn & Quarterly)
* Bookhunter by Jason Shiga (Sparkplug Comic Books)
* Don't Go Where I Can't Follow by Anders Nilsen (Drawn & Quarterly)
* Exit Wounds by Rutu Modan (Drawn & Quarterly)
* House by Josh Simmons (Fantagraphics Books)

Outstanding Story
* Delphine #1-2 by Richard Sala (Fantagraphics Books/Coconino Press)
* Don't Go Where I Can't Follow by Anders Nilsen (Drawn & Quarterly)
* The End #1 by Anders Nilsen (Fantagraphics Books/Coconino Press)
* Martha Gregory by John Hankiewicz, Asthma (Sparkplug Comic Books)
* Untitled by Gabrielle Bell, Drawn & Quarterly Showcase Vol. 4 (Drawn & Quarterly)

Promising New Talent
* Gabrielle Bell, Lucky, Drawn & Quarterly Showcase Vol. 4 (Drawn & Quarterly)
* Scott Campbell, Flight Vol. 4 (Ballantine Books), Hickee vol. 3 #3 (Alternative Comics)
* Lilli Carre, You Ain't No Dancer Vol. 2 (New Reliable Press)
* Brandon Graham, King City (TokyoPop)
* Tom Neely, The Blot (I Will Destroy You)

Outstanding Series
* Atlas by Dylan Horrocks (Drawn & Quarterly)
* Delphine by Richard Sala (Fantagraphics Books/Coconino Press)
* Dungeon by Lewis Trondheim, Joann Sfar, and various (NBM)
* Love & Rockets by Los Bros Hernandez (Fantagraphics Books)
* Mourning Star by Kazimir Strzepek (Bodega Distribution)

Outstanding Comic
* Doctor Id by Adam McGovern and Paolo Leandri (Indie Ink Studios)
* Fuzz & Pluck in Splitsville #4 by Ted Stearn (Fantagraphics Books)
* Love & Rockets vol. 2 #18 by Los Bros Hernandez (Fantagraphics Books)
* Monster Parade #1 by Ben Catmull (Fantagraphics Books)
* Optic Nerve #11 by Adrian Tomine (Drawn & Quarterly)

Outstanding Mini-Comic
* Burning Building Comix by Jeff Zwirek
* The Monkey and the Crab by Shawn Cheng and Sara Edward-Corbett
* Noose by Mark Burrier
* P.S. Comics #3 by Minty Lewis
* Seven More Days of Not Getting Eaten by Matt Wiegle

Outstanding Online Comic
* Achewood by Chris Onstad
* Grace by Kris Dresen
* Persimmon Cup by Nick Bertozzi
* Thingpart by Joe Sayers
* Wondermark by David Malki

I'm a little surprised by the appearance of a Sara Edward-Corbett co-created mini-comic on the best mini-comic list, given her presence on the jury. Did they not institute a Frank Cho rule to guard against that kind of thing? I thought they had. I mean, I don't want to punk on the nomination or call it into question -- that's a lovely mini-comic, one I would nominate, and I'm sure no one exerted any influence -- I just didn't think it was possible.

Update! Or, "Ask A Question, Get An Answer"

The Ignatz Awards coordinator wrote in to clear up how you can be a juror and a nominee -- the upshot: you can't nominate your own work, but you can be nominated, as the juries are working blind, without even knowing who the other jurors are. Mr. McElhatton's full letter follows:
Hey Tom, just saw your post on the Ignatz Awards.

In answer to your question -- after the 1999 Ignatz Awards, the rules were changed to explicitly state that jurors are not allowed to nominate their own work.

However, one of the reasons why the jurors's names aren't revealed until the ballot is released is that each juror is unaware of who the other four members are. All submissions, correspondence, and voting goes through the Ignatz Awards Coordinator (in this case, me). This way, creators can serve on the Ignatz Jury without suddenly becoming ineligible for the award that year; no one else on the jury knows they're a member. That procedure has been in place since Ed Brubaker and Chris Oarr created the awards back in 1997.

So, in short, Sara Edward-Corbett's nomination was based entirely on her talent and had nothing improper connected to it in any way, shape, or form. Her placement on the ballot is because of other jurors who didn't know she was serving.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to ask!
Well, that's that! Plus, I didn't know that Ed Brubaker co-created the awards.
posted 8:52 am PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
November 2019
October 2019
September 2019
August 2019
July 2019
Full Archives