Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

March 27, 2014

Your 2014 Doug Wright Award Nominees: Canadian Whites To HOF; 10th-Year Commemorative Book Planned


The Doug Wright Awards For Canadian Cartooning announced their 2014 Finalists earlier today. They also announced this year's induction into their Hall Of Fame would be creators contributing to the historic "Canadian Whites."

The nominees are:

Best Book
* Palookaville #21, Seth (Drawn and Quarterly)
* Paul Joins the Scouts, Michel Rabagliati (Conundrum Press)
* Science Fiction, Joe Ollmann (Conundrum Press)
* Susceptible, Genevièlve Castrée (Drawn and Quarterly)
* Very Casual, Michael DeForge (Koyama Press)

Doug Wright Spotlight Award/"The Nipper"/(Wider Recognition)
* Connor Willumsen for Calgary: Death Milks a Cow, Treasure Island, Mooncalf, and Passionfruit
* Dakota McFadzean for Other Stories and the Horse You Rode in On (Conundrum Press)
* Patrick Kyle for Distance Mover #7-12, New Comics #1-2
* Steven Gilbert for The Journal of the Main Street Secret Lodge
* Georgia Webber for Dumb #1-3

Pigskin Peters/(Experimental Or Avant-Garde)
* Calgary: Death Milks a Cow, Connor Willumsen
* Flexible Tube with Stink Lines, Seth Scriver
* Journal, Julie Delporte (Koyama Press)
* Out of Skin, Emily Carroll
* Very Casual, Michael DeForge (Koyama Press)

I want to run the release's explanation of this year's Giants Of The North Hall Of Fame Recipients:
A feature event of the Toronto Comic Arts Festival (TCAF), The Doug Wright Awards are pleased to announce that the pioneering artists of the Second World War "Canadian Whites" comics will be formally inducted into The Giants of the North: The Canadian Cartoonists Hall of Fame during the ceremony on Saturday May 10, 2014 in Toronto.

The Canadian Whites were black-and-white comics produced between 1941 and 1946 that contained a host of original (and iconic) Canadian characters such as Johnny Canuck, Canada Jack and Nelvana of the Northern Lights. These characters were created by the likes of Murray Karn, Adrian Dingle, Gerry Lazare, Leo Bachle and Jack Tremblay. The event will also serve as the official launch of a new collection of the complete Nelvana of the Northern Lights (by Adrian Dingle) being published by CGA Comics.
The awards also announced this year's jury: Lynn Crosbie, Nina Bunjevac, Nick Maandag and Jesse Brown. The nominating committe was Jerry Ciccoritti, Betty Liang, Rachel Richey, Chris Randle and Chester Brown.

To mark its 10th anniversary, the awards program announced it will be crowd-funding a commemorative book that will include interpretation of Doug Wright's "Nipper" by an all-star line-up of Canadian cartoonist and pst winners.

There ceremony will be held at the Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel starting at 7 PM on May 10, in the midst of TCAF weekend.

Originating PR here: DWA_2014_FINALISTS_RL_032814.pdf
posted 11:30 pm PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
November 2019
October 2019
September 2019
August 2019
July 2019
Full Archives