Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

May 1, 2005

Harvey Awards Nominations Announced

Released to the press to take advantage of that mid-Saturday afternoon (???) rush of on-line media traffic, the Harvey Awards were announced by their current administrators the Museum of Comic and Cartoon Art.

The Harveys are named after the great Harvey Kurtzman.

To be blunt, I think the Harveys can be untrustworthy because they are nominated by open ballot -- which I prefer -- but their spotty record over the last few years means it's hard to trust the voting bloc. I think more people are voting now, but still, if you have someone at a company really making sure that their artists and creative people vote, you can have these huge one-year spikes for certain companies or certain comics.

Taken just as awards, and off the top of my head, I'm surprised that Identity Crisis received an award for content. I'm also impressed that Indy Magazine, an on-line publication, received its second and deserved major award nomination of the season.

I will format from a more official list when it's not Saturday.

Best New Talent
Samuel Hiti -- End Times/Tiempos Finales (La Luz Comics)
Christopher Reilly -- Puphedz (Brillig Productions)
Andy Runton -- Owly (Top Shelf)
Leslie Stein -- Yeah, It Is (Alternative Comics)
Bryan Lee O’Malley -- Scott Pilgrim (Oni Press)

Best New Series
Michael Chabon Presents: The Amazing Adventures of the Escapist (Dark Horse Comics)
Ex Machina: The First Hundred Days (DC Comics/Wildstorm)
Or Else (Drawn & Quarterly)
Owly (Top Shelf)
1602 (Marvel)

Best Letterer
Daniel Clowes -- Eightball (Fantagraphics)
Todd Klein -- Wonder Woman (DC Comics)
Seth -- Palookaville (Drawn & Quarterly)
Dave Sim -- Cerebus (Aardvark-Vanaheim)
Richard Starkings -- Conan (Dark Horse Comics)

Best Writer
Brian Michael Bendis -- Daredevil (Marvel)
Daniel Clowes -- Eightball (Fantagraphics)
Alan Moore -- Promethea (DC Comics/Wildstorm/America’s Best Comics)
Christopher Reilly -- Puphedz (Brillig Productions)
Judd Winick -- Green Arrow (DC Comics)

Best Artist
Charles Burns -- Black Hole #12 (Fantagraphics)
John Cassaday -- Planetary (DC Comics/Wildstorm)
Darwyn Cooke -- DC: The New Frontier (DC Comics)
Juanjo Guardino -- Blacksad 2 (ibooks/Komikwerks)
Jaime Hernandez -- Love and Rockets (Fantagraphics)

Best Cartoonist
Kyle Baker -- Plastic Man (DC Comics)
Daniel Clowes -- Eightball (Fantagraphics)
Batton Lash -- Supernatural Law (Exhibit A Press)
Bryan Lee O'Malley -- Scott Pilgrim (Oni Press)
Jeff Smith -- Bone (Cartoon Books)

Best Cover Artist
Charles Burns -- Black Hole (Fantagraphics)
Juanjo Guardino -- Blacksad (ibooks/Komikwerks)
James Jean -- Fables (DC Comics/Vertigo)
Scott McKowen -- 1602 (Marvel)
Humberto Ramos -- Spectacular Spider-Man (Marvel)

Best Single Issue or Story
Batman: Room Full of Strangers (DC Comics)
Black Hole #12 (Fantagraphics)
Dogs and Water (Drawn & Quarterly)
Identity Crisis #1-4 (DC Comics)
Eightball #23 (Fantagraphics)
Puphedz (Brillig Productions)
Supernatural Law #101 (Exhibit A Press)

Best Domestic Reprint Project
Krazy and Ignatz (Fantagraphics)
B. Krigstein: Comics (Fantagraphics)
The Last Heroes (ibooks/Komikwerks)
Marge's Little Lulu Vol. 1 (Dark Horse Comics)
The Complete Peanuts 1950-52 (Fantagraphics)
The Spirit Archives Vol. 14 (DC Comics)

Best Continuing -- Limited Series
Eightball (Fantagraphics)
Identity Crisis (DC Comics)
Love and Rockets (Fantagraphics)
The New Frontier (DC Comics)
Supernatural Law (Exhibit A Press)

Best Inker
Charles Burns -- Black Hole (Fantagraphics)
Danny Miki -- Ultimate Fantastic Four (Marvel)
Andy Parks -- Green Arrow (DC Comics)
Seth -- Palookaville (Drawn & Quarterly)
Steve Leialoha -- Fables (DC Comics/Vertigo)

Best Colorist
Daniel Clowes -- Eightball (Fantagrahpics Books)
Laura Martin -- Astonishing X-Men (Marvel)
Patricia Mulvihill -- 100 Bullets (DC Comics/Vertigo)
Stefani Renee -- Ant (Arcana Studio)
Dave Stewart -- DC: The New Frontier (DC Comics)

Best Graphic Album of Previously Published Work
American Elf: Sketchbook Diaries of James Kochalka (Top Shelf/James Kochalka)
Bone: One Volume Edition (Cartoon Books/Jeff Smith)
Clyde Fans: Book 1 (Drawn & Quarterly/Seth)
Locas (Fantagraphics/Jaime Hernandez)
R. Crumb's Kafka (ibooks/Komikwerks/Robert Crumb & David Zane Mairowitz)

Special Award for Humor in Comics
Kyle Baker -- Plastic Man (DC Comics)
Jimmy Gownley -- Amelia Rules! (ibooks/Komikwerks)
Roger Langridge -- Fred the Clown (Hotel Fred)
Christopher Reilly -- Puphedz (Brillig Productions)
Johnny Ryan -- Angry Youth Comix (Fantagraphics)

Best Anthology
Michael Chabon Presents: The Amazing Adventure of the Escapist -- Dark Horse Comics (Diana Schutz, Editor)
Fight #1 -- Image Comics (Kazu Kibuishi, Editor)
Kramer's Ergot #5 -- Gingko Press; Sammy Harkham, Editor
McSweeney's Quarterly Concern #13 -- McSweeney's Books (Chris Ware, Editor)
Nickelodeon (Comic Book Section) – Viacom/Nickelodeon (Dave Roman, Editor)

Best Graphic Album of Original Work
Blacksad 2 -- ibooks/Komikwerks (Juajono Guardino, Juan Diaz Canales)
Carnet De Voyage -- Top Shelf (Craig Thompson)
Jimbo in Purgatory -- Fantagraphics (Gary Panter)
Owly -- Top Shelf (Andy Runton)
Scott Pilgrim, Vol. 1 -- Oni Press (Bryan Lee O’Malley)

Best Syndicated Strip or Panel
Doonesbury -- Garry Trudeau (Universal Press Syndicate)
Tom, the Dancing Bug -- Ruben Bolling (Universal Press Syndicate)
Maakies -- Tony Millionaire (Self-Syndicated)
Mutts -- Patrick McDonald (King Features Syndicate)
Underworld -- Kaz (Self-Syndicated)

Special Award for Excellence in Presentation
In the Shadow of No Towers -- Pantheon
McSweeney’s Quarterly Concern #13 -- McSweeney’s Books
Mr. X Collected -- ibooks/Komikwerks
The Complete Peanuts 1950-52 -- Fantagraphics
Valerian: New Future Trilogy -- ibooks/Komikwerks

Best American Edition of Foreign Material
Blacksad 2 -- ibooks/Komikwerks
Buddha -- Vertical Inc.
Metabarons -- Humanoids Publishing
Persepolis 2: Story of a Return -- Pantheon
Valerian: New Future Trilogy -- ibooks/Komikwerks

Best Biographical, Historical, or Journalistic Presentation
Comic Art Magazine -- M. Todd Hignite (M. Todd Hignite, Editor)
Comic Book Artist -- Top Shelf (Jon B. Cooke, Editor)
The Comics Journal -- Fantagraphics (Gary Groth and Dirk Deppey, Editors)
Indy Magazine -- Alternative Comics (Bill Kartalopoulos, Editor)
Men of Tomorrow -- Basic Books (Gerard Jones, Author)
posted 2:52 am PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
June 2018
May 2018
April 2018
March 2018
February 2018
Full Archives