Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

June 10, 2011

Your 2011 Russ Manning Most Promising Newcomer Nominees


This year's nominee list for the Russ Manning Most Promising Newcomer Award has been released. They are:

* Janet Lee, artist of Return of the Dapper Men (published by Archaia)
* Adam Hines, writer/artist of Duncan the Wonder Dog (published by AdHouse)
* David Marquez, artist of Days Missing and Syndrome (published by Archaia)
* Paul Roman Martinez, artist of Adventures of the 19XX (published by Kopetkai)
* Nate Simpson, artist of Nonplayer (published by Image)

The winner is named during the Eisner Awards ceremony, held the Friday of Comic-Con International weekend. This year's recipient will be the 30th for the award, which has been given out in the name of the late, great comics craftsman since 1982. If you look at the winners list, it's a pretty interesting mix of people that have gone on to become iconic cartoonists and those that haven't, including people working in all different styles.

1982: Dave Stevens
1983: Jan Duursema
1984: Steve Rude
1985: Scott McCloud
1986: Art Adams
1987: Eric Shanower
1988: Kevin Maguire
1989: Richard Piers Rayner
1990: Dan Brereton
1991: Daerick Gross
1992: Mike Okamoto
1993: Jeff Smith
1994: Gene Ha
1995: Edvin Biukovic
1996: Alexander Maleev
1997: Walt Holcomb
1998: Matt Vander Pool
1999: Jay Anceleto
2000: Alan Bunce
2001: Goran Sudzuka
2002: Tan Eng Huat
2003: Jerome Opena
2004: Eric Wight
2005: Chris Bailey
2006: R. Kikuo Johnson
2007: David Petersen
2008: Cathy Malkasian
2009: Eleanor Davis
2010: Marian Churchland

That run up to the present is as strong a run of winners as any award out there the last half-decade or so, I'd bet, a murderer's row of new talent.

art up top by Simpson
posted 6:00 pm PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
April 2019
March 2019
February 2019
January 2019
December 2018
Full Archives