Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

May 29, 2005

CR Sunday Magazine

Pat Brady Wins Reuben

imagePat Brady of Rose is Rose took home the cartoonist of the year award at the Reuben Awards given out Saturday night in beautiful downtown Scottsdale, Arizona in the traditional formal-wear-only ceremony. Gahan Wilson won the Milton Caniff Lifetime Achivement award. A full list of divisional winners as advertised by the National Cartoonists Society on their web site:

Advertising Illustration: Mike Lester
Book Illustration: Geefwee Boedoe
Comic Books: Darwyn Cooke
Editorial cartoons: Jeff Parker
Feature Animation: Brad Bird
Gag Cartoons: Robert Weber
Greeting Cards: Glenn McCoy
Magazine Feature/Illustration: Jack Pittman
Newspaper Comic Strips: Glenn McCoy
Newspaper Illustartion: Michael McParlane
Newspaper Panel Cartoon: Marcus Hamilton
Television Animation: Craig McCracken

The NCS has also done reader the favor of linking to art samples from its nominations page.

The Doug Wright Awards

In the other prestigious comcis awards ceremony being held this weekend, Bryan Lee O'Malley's Scott Pilgrim Vol. 1 won for Best Emerging Talent at the Doug Wright Awards, while Seth's Clyde Fans: Book One won for Best Book.

The Fantastic Four On-Line, Briefly

Here is a brief section concerning tips and available resources when it comes to writing about the Fantastic Four comic book, in case anyone out there reading wants to incorporate information about the comic into an article on the movie, or maybe as a separarte article in and of itself. I would appreciate any suggestions for additions.
posted 12:44 pm PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
November 2019
October 2019
September 2019
August 2019
July 2019
Full Archives