Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

Home > News Story and Obituary Archive

News: Lulu Awards Announced
posted July 22, 2004

July 22 -- Jumping into the awards pool on the same Comic-Con International weekend where the big splash goes to the Eisners, the Friends of Lulu presented their 8th annual awards program on the weekend's Thursday night. The ceremony, held at San Diego's well-known The Bitter End, was the coziest of the weekend awards and according to those in attendance featured several heartwarming moments of indiscriminate nature and type, no doubt a few arising from a handful of sometimes shocked but all very pleased winners.

Women Cartoonists Hall of Fame: Lynda Barry
Lulu of the Year: Lea Hernandez (Editor,
Kim Yale Award for Best New Female Talent: Lark Pien (Long Tail Kitty)
Women of Distinction Award: Maggie Thompson (Editor, Comics Buyer's Guide)
Volunteer of the Year Award: Charlie Boatner

The Friends of Lulu is a non-profit organization whose stated goal is to foster female participation in and readership of comics. Presenters at the Thursday evening awards included Trina Robbins and A. David Lewis.