Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

April 23, 2012

Daily Cartoonist: IU’s Ben Wade Wins John Locher Memorial Award


Alan Gardner over at Daily Cartoonist picked up word that Indiana University illustrator/cartoonist Ben Wade will receive this year's AAEC/John Locher Memorial Award. That's an award that's been around for about a quarter-century that goes to college editorial cartoonists. The winner receives $1000 and a trip to the year's AAEC convention (this time out in Washington, D.C.). I'm not familiar with Wade's editorial cartooning work, although samples of his illustrations in Bloomington student-focused publication show up here and there on the Internet. There's also a profile of Wade as a kind of "typical freshman" feature here.

Gardner reports the other finalists in a year of close voting were Phillip Henry and Sam Reveley. Past winners of the John Locher Memorial Award include Marshall Ramsey, Steve Breen and Nate Beeler.
posted 9:00 am PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
November 2019
October 2019
September 2019
August 2019
July 2019
Full Archives