Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

March 21, 2011

John Vestevich Wins 2011 Charles M. Schulz Award


Alan Gardner at The Daily Cartoonist reports that this year's Charles M. Schulz award for best student cartoonist went to John Vestevich of Ferris State University. Vestevich won over a finalist field consisting of himself, Mike Diliberto of Webster Univeristy and David Zaleski of Loyola Marymount. He will receive a $10,000 cash prize.

Past winners of the award, sponsored by the Scripps Howard Foundation, including Frank Cho, Steve Breen and Nick Anderson. It's probably also worth noting that Gardner himself was once a finalist for the honor. Finalists over the years have included Lucy Knisley and I believe Greg Stump.
posted 10:00 am PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
November 2019
October 2019
September 2019
August 2019
July 2019
Full Archives