Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

May 29, 2006

Mike Luckovich Wins 2006 Reuben

In a move that surprised many observers if only because it's a rare occurrence, Atlanta Journal-Constitution editorial cartoonist Mike Luckovich added to this year's Pulitzer Prize win by taking home the cartoonist of the year honors at this weekend's Reuben Awards held by the National Cartoonists Society. It was the 60th year for the awards, a black-tie event held in rotating cities, this year in Chicago. The other finalists were Bill Amend, Dave Coverly, Brian Crane and Dan Piraro.

Jim Borgman, Brooke McEldowney, Jerry Van Amerongen, Glenn McCoy and Ralph Steadman were among the division winners. Paul Chadwick won the comic book division over Rick Geary and Erik Larsen. Steadman won the Milton Caniff Lifetime Achievement Award, and a Silver T-Square for service to cartooning went to Dick Locher.
posted 8:02 am PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
November 2019
October 2019
September 2019
August 2019
July 2019
Full Archives