Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

June 17, 2009

Swann Foundation Recipients Named

According to a press release, the Caroline and Erwin Swann Foundation for Caricature and Cartoon has announced its fellowship awards for the academic year 2009-2010: Yasemin Gencer, Amanda Lahikainen and Jason E. Hill. The number of application led to a split award between the three recipients. Gencer will use her award for research on her dissertation covering political cartoons in Turkey from 1918 to 1928. Lahikainen will study how graphic satirists in England used the French Revolution to make commentary on domestic politics. Hill hopes to complete his dissertation on the role of cartooning in the visual strategies employed by PM Daily in the 1940s. All three are expected to use holdings at the Library of Congress, the organization that administers the fellowship awards.
posted 8:00 am PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
November 2019
October 2019
September 2019
August 2019
July 2019
Full Archives