Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

June 19, 2009

Your 2009 Bill Finger Award For Excellence In Comic Book Writing Recipients


John Broome and Frank Jacobs have been announced as the recipients of the 2009 Bill Finger Award for Excellence in Comic Book Writing.

Frank Jacobs is a long-time freelancer for MAD Magazine who has worked on a variety of that publication's features since coming on board in 1957. He is perhaps best known for his well-regarded poems and song parodies. Jacobs is also the author of The MAD World of William M. Gaines, one of the earlier popular comics histories.

John Broome (1913-1999) followed his agent Julius Schwartz into comics from science fiction. He wrote for DC Comics from 1946 until 1970 on a variety of features including foundational Silver Age superhero properties like The Flash, Green Lanter, The Atomic Knights and Detective Chimp.

The Bill Finger Award was created in 2005 at the urging of longtime creator, historian and rights advocate Jerry Robinson. They are named after William Finger (1914-1974) the first writer on the Batman comics. This year's board was chaired by Mark Evanier, who reported via the press release distributed that the choices were unanimously selected. That committee was Evanier, Charles Kochman, Kurt Busiek, Tony Isabella and Marv Wolfman. The award will be presented as part of the Eisner Awards ceremony this July at the Hilton Bayfront hotel as part of San Diego's Comic-Con International.

posted 8:00 am PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
November 2019
October 2019
September 2019
August 2019
July 2019
Full Archives