Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

April 4, 2015

Your 2015 Doug Wright Awards Nominees; Merle “Ting” Tingley Becomes Giant Of The North


The Doug Wright Awards has announced a strong slate of nominees for its 2015 program, honoring the best in Canadian cartooning. The DWAs have also named Merle "Ting" Tingley as this year's inductee to the Giants Of The North Canadian Cartoonist Hall Of Fame.

The DWAs are limited in terms of the number of awards they give out, which tends to result in each category being stacked with heavy-hitters. It's that way this year. The nominees are:

Best Book

* Ant Colony, by Michael DeForge (Drawn & Quarterly)
* Fatherland, by Nina Bunjevac (Jonathan Cape/Random House)
* Safari Honeymoon, by Jesse Jacobs (Koyama Press)
* The People Inside, by Ray Fawkes (Oni Press)
* This One Summer, by Jillian Tamaki and Mariko Tamaki (Groundwood/First Second)


The Doug Wright Spotlight Award aka "The Nipper" (for cartoonists deserving wider recognition)

* Aaron Costain, for Entropy #10
* Elisabeth Belliveau for One Year in America (Conundrum Press)
* Julie Delporte, for Everywhere Antennas (Drawn & Quarterly)
* Meags Fitzgerald, for Photobooth: A Biography (Conundrum Press)
* Simon Roy for Tiger Lung (Dark Horse)
* Sophie Yanow, for War of Streets and Houses (Uncivilized Books)


Pigskin Peters Award (unconventional, experimental, avant-garde)

* Comics Collection 2010-2013 and Less than Dust by Julien Ceccaldi
* Great Success! 1983-2013 by Henriette Valium (Crna Hronika)
* New Comics #3-5 by Patrick Kyle (Mother Books)
* Undocumented: The Architecture of Migrant Detention by Tings Chak (The Architecture Observer)
* "Swinespritzen" by Connor Willumsen

Tingley is currently 93 years old. A fixture of Canadian editorial cartooning in the second half of the 20th Century, Tingley published in the Free Press of Southern Ontario from 1948 to 1986. He was also syndicated to 60 newspapers across Canada. He is well known for his mascot "Luke Worm," which he hid in his cartoons allowing kids a secondary level of enjoyment in trying to find him. A second annual festival in his honor will be held in London, Ontario from late April to early May.

This year's jury is set to include Fiona Smyth, Zach Worton and Conan Tobias.

This year's nominating committe was Jerry Ciccoritti, Barbara Postema, Sean Rogers, Geneve Firanski and Chester Brown.

It is the awards program's 11th year and takes place the Saturday night of the Toronto Comics Arts Festival, which this year will be May 9.

Congratulations to all nominees.

picture of Ting supplied by the DWAs
posted 7:00 pm PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
November 2019
October 2019
September 2019
August 2019
July 2019
Full Archives