Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary

June 5, 2019

Your 2019 Russ Manning Award Nominees


Comic-Con has announced the 2019 nominees for the Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award. The Manning Award has been given out at the show since 1982, named for lauded adventure comics artist Russ Manning. Because of its wide purview -- young cartoonists, essentially -- and I think the focus on comics-making through Manning's example, the winners list is an interesting one. (Past winners range from Eleanor Davis to Dave Stevens to David Petersen to Scott McCloud).

This year's nominees are

* Lorena Alvarez, writer/artist of Hicotea and Nightlights (Nobrow)
* Ellen T. Crenshaw, artist of Kiss Number 8 (First Second)
* MJ Kim, artist of Faith: Dreamside (Valiant)
* Sumit Kumar, artist of These Savage Shores (Vault Comics) and Ruin of Thieves (Action Lab)
* Kieran McKeown, artist of Halo: Lone Wolf (Dark Horse)

I'm guessing on a few of those; .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

While the nominees are selected by a committee of CCI-related folks including a retailer, the winners are chosen by past winners and Manning assistants, another appealing factor in the award's longevity. Plus you get to run Manning art, which is swell. The winner will be announced at this year's Eisners ceremony.
posted 5:35 pm PST | Permalink

Daily Blog Archives
November 2019
October 2019
September 2019
August 2019
July 2019
Full Archives